Amalgamate the two Hutt Valley cities;
Amalgamate Porirua and Kapiti Coast;
 Amalgamate the Wairarapa.
 Add these entities with Wellington City and Greater Wellington Regional Council to form a Wellington Metropolitan Council. The amalgamated entities would have their own mayor and smaller councils for domestic affairs. They would have two members each on the Metropolitan Council, headed by a Chairperson.