Saturday, June 25, 2011

Hone Harawira wins Te Tai Tokerau by-election...

Mana Party leader, Hone Harawira, has won the Te Tai Tokerau by-election.

The former Maori Party MP forced the by-election when he left Parliament to form his new party.

Mr Harawira has 5611 votes, a lead of 867 over Labour's Kelvin Davis.

The Maori Party candidate Solomon Tipene is a distant third with 1026 votes.

Kelvyn Alp from the OurNZ Party received 63 votes and Maki Herbert from the Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party received 126 votes.

The electorate stretches from the top of Northland down to west Auckland.

Acknowledgements:  © 2011, Radio New Zealand

No comments: